Swiss Summer Oats

I have no idea what makes these oats Swiss; they probably aren’t.  But a friend passed on a recipe for Swiss oats and this is what I came up with.

During the winter I eat oatmeal almost every day.  Sometimes for lunch.  Sometimes for dinner.  Most of the time for breakfast.

When it’s hot outside, though, I take a hiatus from oatmeal.  Needless to say, I haven’t had oatmeal in quite some time.  In fact, I didn’t even have oatmeal in my house until I was inspired by this recipe.

These oats have become a quick favorite of mine.  They are cool and refreshing but still hearty and filling.  Often times when I enjoy a bowl of granola, I let the cereal sit for a while and absorb some of the milk.  These oats are similar to the soft and creamy texture that ensues.

Lots of oat-loving folk rave about overnight oatmeal.  This is kind of like that, but better.

Feel free to play around with combinations you like.  I used fruits that I had on hand, but use whatever combination you prefer/have.  I used agave and added some cinnamon, but brown sugar might be a more traditional sweetener.  And I could totally see some sort of nutbutter coming onto the scene here.  Next time 😉

Recipe

(serves 1)

1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats

milk (any kind)

1/2 banana, diced

small handful of fresh cherries, pitted and quartered

1/8 cup plain Greek yogurt

toasted slivered almonds

1 T agave nectar

cinnamon, if desired

Put oats in a bowl and pour in enough milk to just barely cover the oats.  Cover and refrigerate overnight, at least 8 hours.

In the morning (or whenever you happen to be eating these), drain out leftover liquid.  Top oats with remaining ingredients.  Enjoy 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

