Vanilla Chia Seed Pudding

Am I the only person who doesn’t know what a chia pet is?

Well, now I do.  But honestly, when I first heard about chia seeds, “ch-ch-ch-CHIA” did not blare through my brain the way it seems to for some people.

I first used chia seeds by adding them straight into my water-bottle and sipping them throughout the course of the day.  Sometimes I stir them into my morning yogurt too.  The seeds absorb liquid and turn gelatinous.

Chia seed pudding is a sweet and creamy breakfast, snack, or dessert, yet it is loaded with health benefits.  Chia seeds boast fiber, protein, and healthy omega fats.  Their ability to absorb water allows for continuous hydration.

If you’ve never tried chia seeds, I encourage you to jump on board.  Flax seeds have a somewhat nutty taste, but chia seeds literally taste like nothing.

This easy pudding is a great place to start.

Recipe

Yields 3-4 servings

2 cups almond milk

2/3 cup chia seeds

3/4 t vanilla extract

2-3 t sweetener (I used agave nectar)

fruit, nuts, spices, or other garnishes

Combine almond milk, vanilla extract, and chia seeds in a large bowl and stir.  Let sit for 30 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so.  Once mixture has taken on gelatinous/tapioca-like texture, add sweetener and refrigerate.  Serve chilled, topped with fruit, nuts, cinnamon, and more sweetener, if desired.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

