Green Quinoa

It is HOT outside!

I came home from a scorching Chicago (my first time!) only to find that the weather was no cooler in Boston.  I’ll take this over rain, though!

Hot weather = cool lunch.

To create this grain salad, I rustled up some herbs from my fridge.  Scallions, chives, and lime come together to create a tangy and refreshing side dish or salad topper.

This dish is best served at room temperature or slightly chilled.

I combined mine with cooked lentils and tomatoes for a lunch rich in healthy carbohydrates, fiber, and protein.

Stay cool!

To cook quinoa:

Boil two cups of water per cup of quinoa (I usually add more water to make my quinoa moist).  Once water is boiling, add quinoa and cover.  Simmer for 15 minutes or until all water is absorbed (I do at least 18 minutes).  Leave cooked quinoa uncovered or transfer it to another bowl to cool faster.

Meanwhile, chop 2-3 scallions and a small handful of chives into small disks.  Add chopped herbs to quinoa.  Add juice of 1/2 or 1 whole lime (depending on how tangy you would like your salad).  Mix thoroughly.  Refrigerate until served.

Leave a comment